A city break wardrobe in Edinburgh

Hello bloggers,

So this week marked myself and my boyfriend’s 6th year anniversary! Absolutely crazy, seems like only yesterday that we went on our first date to see ‘My Bloody Valentine’ (no idea why we chose to see this random film but hey, must have worked!)

We like to celebrate in style- last year I was lucky enough to be treated to a surprise break to Paris, so this year we decided to go away a bit closer to home, but still to a beautiful location- Edinburgh!

If you haven’t been to Edinburgh, I would thought recommend it. Visually, it’s a very grand looking city with impressive landmarks including the Castle. As expected with all the landmarks, it’s a city steeped in history so you will learn a lot!

IMG_8921.JPG

So anyway, onto the holiday outfits! We went during January, so it was freeeeezing! I had been warned by almost everyone who knew I was going that it’s very chilly there so I did prepare- as hard as this was with just a cabin bag. Chunky knitwear and small spaces is a recipe for disaster!

IMG_9011.JPG

I chose to wrap up with my new camel coat from Miss Selfridge- have wanted a camel coat for years and finally found the perfect one- this coat is timeless and smart, a great investment piece.
I teamed my coat with a patterned blanket scarf, all the rage this year since the Burberry Drape sky-rocketed cosy blanket-styles into the fashion world. Thank you Burberry! I like the winter berry accents in it which add a little life to my outfit. I also like how I can wear it as a scarf or a drape.

Finally, I completed the ‘wrapped up to within an inch of my life’ look with a Barts faux fur headband- a gift from my parents. It certainly did the trick of keeping me warm, especially at the very top turret of Edinburgh castle!
My BEAUTIFUL Mulberry bag (a gift from my lovely boyfriend) was the perfect companion and holdall for all my sightseeing leaflets.

I’ve only recently started wearing lipstick during the day. I don’t usually wear a lot of makeup during the week but I do love to accentuate my lips so chose a bright pink Revlon lipstick for the day, and opted for a more gothy dark purple Topshop lipstick for evening celebrations.

IMG_8849.JPG

As most fashion lovers know, a city break is the perfect excuse to plan a couple of outfits down to a tee. I really enjoyed the challenge of packing enough outfits to last me three days but with a very limited suitcase space!

Here’s to a lovely few days of romance, sightseeing and lovely outfits! 🙂

IMG_9010.JPG

IMG_9008.JPG

Camel coat – miss selfridge
Blanket scarf- selected femme
Bag- mulberry
Faux fur headband- Bart’s
Black polo neck top- Great Plains for French Connection
Gold locket necklace- Accessorize

Leave a Reply

