Brogues in Vogue.

We all have that one area of our wardrobe which we neglect. It could be that we find that particular garment a nightmare to buy (usually jeans as it feels like rocket science is needed to find ‘the perfect fit’), or it could be that its something that is just easily overlooked (boring socks). But personally, my area of wardrobe that often looks a little neglected is my footwear section.

09987d2d6938e2a115227614ac0c61b8

Don’t get me wrong, I do own a fair few pairs of shoes! But these shoes are usually all very similar and despite the large volume of shoes I own, because they’re all the same I actually end up with the dreaded ‘I have nothing to wear!!!‘ syndrome on a lot of occasions.

So this Autumn I have decided to focus on my tootsies and keeping them warm and protected. My go-to shoe style at this time of year (before it gets really cold) is more often than not the ballet pump. Pretty and easy to get on and off but with very little support or protection. It is essentially like walking on bare feet with a small slip of fabric between you and the ground!

778c11f323ff7a538b3d98d8723819f1

I have always admired the brogue style of shoe for women but until recently have  thought that it doesn’t particularly fit in with my personal style. I love the slightly androgynous look that they can give off whilst still maintaining a level of femininity by showing off sleek and elegant ankles. Worn with cropped or ankle grazers, they can be shown off at their best.

0214-N1A3-034H025-1016_02_1008_1080

After a lengthy session on Pinterest followed by an online shopping mission, I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of brogues that caught my eye and the different looks you can create with them. So here are three ways to wear brogues this season.

With a dress.

adf9894e8935caaa897bb28ea19b93fc9937cce3db72d4ce461c388696be90c2

Bringing feminine together with the androgynous. I think it would be a little optimistic to assume we would be going tight-less during the winter but all the same, a pair of brogues with a pretty dress makes for a really stylish look and a great way to show off legs! This is a great look for an apple-shaped lady who is perhaps larger on top but who has skinnier legs as the brogues will draw the eye down. Wear with chunky tights and layer your dress with a warm and cosy knitted cardigan or jumper cinched in with a belt. For extra style points to embrace this season’s trends, team your brogues with a boho dress for a warm winter look.

As a splash of colour.

Aside from the black or tan colours that we mostly associate traditional brogues with, there are a plethora of patterned and coloured brogues on the market nowadays. These can add a ‘bit of ommph‘ to a simple or classic outfit.

Wear with cropped trousers, a crisp white shirt and tailored blazer for a stylish and smart look. Alternatively, wear with a colour block outfit to really let your brogues do the talking. This is a great way to team your new brogues with staples that you probably already own such as your jeans and neutrally coloured garments. All black teamed with a coloured, metallic or patterned pair of brogues will look effortlessly stylish in my opinion, and I’ll definitely be trying this look out!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Modernise Your Brogue

If the traditional brogue isn’t your thing, why not try an adapted version of it? During my online search I found a number of ‘girlier‘ styles of brogue which may work for someone with a particularly feminine personal style, from cut-out detailing to heeled brogues. These would work well with dresses and also as a smart footwear option for workwear. Also quite good as a stepping stone between ballet pumps and traditional brogues!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After writing this blog post I am even more convinced that I’ll be investing in this style this season. My feet will rejoice and my ballet pumps will despair! To finish off, here are a couple of my favourite brogue looks.

Are you a brogue convert?

http://www.charlottebethstyle.com 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

